RACE Exhibit Comes to Seattle

The RACE: Are We So Different exhibit is coming to the Seattle Pacific Science Center September 28, 2013 – January 5, 2014. To tie in with the exhibit, the city of Seattle is offering a series of workshops and speakers for individuals and groups interested in visiting the exhibit and creating a conversation about race and racial equity. You can find out more here.

You can find my reflections on the Boston installation of the exhibit, here.

So often, when I visit exhibits, watch films, or read articles about race I think “Well, that’s not groundbreaking news…”. It’s easy to start tuning things out because they sound similar to the things we’ve heard before. I find myself doing the same thing with Christian sermons– thinking “I’ve already heard that. I already KNOW that, so it doesn’t really apply to me”. But that kind of thinking misses the point. Why should the truth change?

Leave a Reply

