Summer Reading: Bonanza

Generally I do one book at a time. This year, I’m throwing it all to you as once because… drum roll please… I made a bookmark of some of my favorite Asian American books. Two of them are part of the Asian American canon and some are relatively new. Male and female authors of various ethnicities and personal experiences are represented, as are a range of genres (fiction, memoir, poetry). I’ve read them all and would vouch for each of them vehemently:

 

Higgins 524-10

 

Imagine printing it and folding it in half to be double sided. There’s a typo. I know. Maybe that’s why I didn’t sign this piece. Next on my reading list is David Mitchell’s Cloud Atlas. A friend of mine talks about it so constantly that I have to give it a shot. It’s not Asian Am lit, but given that I blogged about yellow face in the movie version, the portrayal of people of color in the original book may be of interest.

Leave a Reply

