Raise Your Fist and Repeat After Me

I want to be (take a deep breath) a Revolutionary!

When I first realized that it was my dream to be a Revolutionary, I didn’t really know what my revolution would be. What I wanted was to rip up cool vintage shirts and listen to underground hip hop on vinyl records, and have those cool revolutionary friends that know more, and dress better than everyone else. It took me a while to realize that this wasn’t being revolutionary. This was being a hipster.

I’m not a Revolutionary. I don’t know if I’d even call myself an activist. Do I really do enough to earn the moniker? I’m not a super volunteer. I don’t like big crowds all that much. I feel awkward at big protests and marches. I do what I do. I write my blog and work in the nonprofit sector. I wear second hand clothes and recycle and I’m trying to get on the compost bandwagon. My resources are God’s, not mine, and so I try to use my time and money with that in mind. More and more, I realize that I don’t really do that much.

My life remains pretty comfortable. I do what I do. I want to be righteous.

Leave a Reply

